the Seasons Personified


Okay, so it’s not technically Wednesday anymore; I’m okay with that. I’m still posting a response to the Three Word Wednesday http://www.threewordwednesday.com/2011/04/3ww-ccxxxvi.html prompt.

The Seasons Personified

the last time I saw Spring
we had a tickle war and
she laughed and squealed
until she vomited violets
all over my lawn.

still, that’s better than
Winter’s cold tragic embrace;
evidently, he  hasn’t forgiven me
for hiding snowballs
in my freezer to scare Summer.

Autumn and I get along best,
I find, because neither of us
is deluded enough to think
that our time together is anything
more than an illusion.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011

19 Comments

Filed under Poetry

19 responses to “the Seasons Personified

  1. earlybird

    Great response. I love the personification of the seasons and their characters.

    • Thank you! Your poem was powerful- I had never heard of the shadorma before I read your poem, and I’ll definitely have to experiment with it in the future. Limiting yourself with syllables has to make you consider every possible word or meaning that you want.

  2. WOW !!! simply awesome !!

  3. haha…love it…vomited violets….lol this was a fun verse…fall/autumn are my favs and it does go so fast…

    • I know. Especially where I’m from, autumn gets the short end of the stick. Winter always comes up and spoils our fun with boatloads of snow.

      Hee- I always picture Spring as a mischievous redhead bouncing around madly. She’s definitely the type to laugh so hard she’d cry dandelions or robins or something.

  4. Wow, this is AmAZinG! Love it. Especially the vomited violets!

    PS. Autumn and I have a similar relationship!

    • Thank you! Vomited violets is probably my favourite phrase this week. I’m going to have to use it in a sentence unrelated to poetry in my daily life.

      Oh gosh, it seems like every season lasts forever but autumn. I love the leaves in piles on the ground, and the squashes and pumpkins all over the place (so much yummy food!), it’s the perfect temperature, and just … everything about it, really.

    • Also, ohmygosh I love your poetry. I just read the first bunch on your blog just now. Are you using the pictures as inspiration? because that is such a great idea. “Quel est la prix de la liberte?” is bang on. The word choice really evokes that time period.

  5. This was really fun to read! I love autumn as well.

  6. absolutely lovely! your words paint an perfect picture. I completely love the imagery in the first stanza.

    • Thank you 🙂 I enjoyed yours as well (“never really friends”, I believe). I think everyone has felt that way at one time or another, and you described rather well the self-delusion we let ourselves fall into when we want so badly to connect with someone. The short lines created a great sense of urgency, like it was still happening even though I got the sense that this friendship/relationship has been over for a while.

  7. Mother Nature is smiling and can’t wait to give you a hug. Brilliant.

  8. Oh to be ‘tickled by spring’ – just lovely..Autumn is a fine friend..not too demanding..Jae 🙂

    • Yes, Autumn tends to let things be. Doesn’t mind if we have an extra slice of pie, or wake up a bit later than usual, because the season’s kind of short here and Autumn just wants you to enjoy life before Winter. 😀

  9. this is stunning…

    Invite you to share your poetry with our poetry potluck today,
    Random poems, poems unrelated to our theme are welcome!

    Hope to see you in.
    Bless your talent.
    Cheers.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

