Ink


It’s poem time again, ladies and gents.
Because it’s waaaaay past the witching hour, and coincidentally way past what a reasonable person would assume to be bedtime. But I don’t work tomorrow, so fuckit. Poem!

Ink

I will write my spirit on my skin
In black or colourful ink,
Anticipating the needle’s buzz,
Not dreading the stinging bite-
Waiting is the hardest part.

I have planned my tattoos
More meticulously than any poem.
Felines, bumblebee, birds and fantasy,
This ink will tell my tale far better
Than I can with pen and paper.

I will paint my skin from neck to ankle,
A mobile canvas to wear proudly
No matter what the weather in my mind.
The phrase may be trite, but true:
Such beauty is worth the pain.

© Bridget Noonan, 2009, 2011.

I think it needs more. There’s at least one stanza that’s hiding on me, and I want it to come out and play. Alas, it’s shy. Plus, the last two lines feel a bit rushed. Thoughts, anyone? I’m wide open for constructive criticism.

Also I need to take some photos of my ink. Unless no one’s interested in seeing my tattoos? 😛
(Heck even if you’re not, when I get around to it, I’ll probably add a couple tattoo photos to my “about me” little blurb. So there!)

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “Ink

  1. chaosdreaming

    I think that I really really really like the opening line of this. Like. Really.

    …and am perhaps just a little jealous of your tattoos. I still don’t have mine. /sigh

    /slinks back to her corner of the internet.

    • 😀 Thanks Tiff! Had to start with le bold statement, it sets the tone for the thing.
      Aww don’t be jealous. You’ve got pictures and such of what you want done correct? (omg we should go get tattoos that would be so badass; I kinda want a faerie this time- all gossamer wings and luminescent beauty and shit)

  2. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

