Silly Poet, Rhyme Ain’t For Kids!


I wrote this little snippet on versebender‘s blog. The actual poem, The Simple Rhymer, is excellent.

Thank you for this poem
I’m sure I don’t know why
Writing in some rhythm
It always makes me cry.

Sure I need to practice
My skills with meter more.
Though for this poetess,
Rhyme’s easy to ignore.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

I tweaked it a bit to make it flow better.

I don’t know if I really have a style, so much. I don’t often use any pattern on purpose, or rhyme things. So what makes a poem? That’s for you to decide. But I’d like it if you thought this was all right.

I Don’t Want You

This experimental phase is
Flattering, really; but you knew
From the start I don’t need you that way.
I don’t want to fall in love with you.

Because when the experiment ends,
You’ll still want to be friends
And I’ll hate every man that you date,
(Or fellate).  You say it’s not a test,
But I know what’s best — for me.

And it’s not that I don’t want you;
Never doubt your wicked charm.
I just can’t allow myself to dream
That your kisses won’t cause me harm.

Stop your lovely words and deeds,
Because I refuse to water the seeds
Of affection for you in my heart.
We both know that this can’t happen,
So stop teasing this poor lesbian.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

I like to pretend that I have women banging on my door begging to sleep with me, or date me. Haha! I had a lot of fun writing this, actually. If you can’t look back on life and laugh at it, what’s the point? When I start dating some lucky gal, this will be even better. If I’d written about the same subject in some formless free-verse thing, it’d probably have turned out all dark and depressing and ‘woe is me, I’m sooo aloooooooooone’, and who needs that? I’ll leave the mooning over unavailable (or fictional) women to Lord Byron.

11 Comments

Filed under Poetry

11 responses to “Silly Poet, Rhyme Ain’t For Kids!

  1. Thanks for posting this. I enjoyed reading it very much. Reading and writing poetry relaxes me and I think it’s soothing for the soul. Great job.

    A Poem for Mothers

  2. Nothing wrong with the rhyme . . . now, about that meter.

    Bridget, it might be an interesting experiment to write a couple short poems of blank verse in unrhyming iambic meter. It worked pretty well for Shakespeare, but while pentameter gets rather unwieldy for us mortals, he apparently dreamt in it. Don’t worry about pentameter, anything will do. Iambic just seems to lend power to anything written in it, just listen to any Elton John song to get the feel.

    • Oh lord, meter has always been a huge… ugh, for me. I think having all those impossible terms drummed into my head over the years has really turned me off. Iambic, trochaic, pyrrhic (and when one considers the legacy of Pyrrhus, it doesn’t make me want to use that sort by association!), it’s all a freakin’ blur. I’m not sure I’ve ever understood how to purposely put in the stresses in the right spots, or how to identify the different kinds of meter even while reading aloud. Oh you’re encouraging me to listen to more Elton John? Best homework assignment ever.

      Clearly I have to do some more reading. Hee hee, I love research. Maybe make myself some more homework up- find examples of iambic meter, imitate, then innovate.
      I’m a little bit jealous of Shakespeare (understatement?), because that prolific bastard dreamt up stuff that… well. His work is still read to this day, and he’s been rotting away in the ground for hundreds of years. My computer components will decompose in dozens of years. It really inspires one to reflect on the perceived longevity of …well, ourselves. Every kid thinks they’ll live forever, or that their memory will.

  3. Bridget, thanks for stopping by my blog and posting your excellent rhyme. Don’t fear the rhyme, girl. I totally agree that in “I Don’t Want You”, the rhyming changes the whole tone….much lighter. I am not an expert on form…I just go with seems to flow. Enjoyed. Vb

    • Yeah, I like the sort of… bounce that rhyme gives. More Tigger, less Eeyore. I love your light verse! It’s a great counterpoint to the rest of my day.

      I’m going to do more experiments with rhyme. I think I listen to a bit too much Bob Dylan to fully appreciate rhyme (or a coherent narrator, :P). Got to dig out my Shel Silverstein and go back to what I really loved about poetry.

  4. earlybird

    I liked this alot and I agree with Vb that the rhyme gives it a much lighter feel than another form might have done. I struggle with meter and I’ve found Stephen Fry’s ‘The Ode Less Travelled’ really helpful (I expect I’ll be shot down by any serious poets but it was!) – although I still find it really hard.

  5. earlybird

    Just come back here – the Ode Less Travelled is a sort of poetry handbook with some good advice and exercises.

Leave a Reply

