Allergy


This wouldn’t leave me alone until I wrote it down last night. It needs some more love, but I think this one needs some more time on the back burner.

Allergy

The sting of a honey bee is
Like eating your first truly spicy dish
After a lifetime of bland meat and potatoes:
One can’t comprehend the complexity of flavour.
Instead, it is a sharp burning sensation,
With awful tingles radiating out, and
Then Mount Vesuvius erupts in the throat,
Obliterating one’s ability to breathe–

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

Which reminds me, gotta call the doc and set up an appointment to get my allergy tests done. I would like to know for sure if I need an epi pen or not for summer. Might be kinda helpful. Especially since last time I got stung by a bee on the hand, my arm swelled up almost all the way to my elbow.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Allergy

  1. Honey (pardon the pun), get your ass to a doctor NOW! If you had that kind of swelling, you are definitely allergic and need an epi pen. You wouldn’t want to keel over on the street because of a simple thing like that – especially given your pen name, right?

    I’m going all Mommy on your butt, sorry… (blush) Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/mirror-grows-up/

    • Haha, that would be irony at its finest. My nickname is Bee, and if I get stung by one I’m toast. It’s morbid kind of funny, I suppose.

      Don’t be sorry about pulling a mama bear! Sometimes I need a kick in the butt to get me going, especially to the doctor. The whole doctor, hospital, needles thing makes my guts go all twisty, so I avoid them like lepers in 100BC.

      Siiiiiigh, guess that means on Monday morning I’ll be pacing outside the office talking myself into going in. lol!

Leave a Reply

