Well, this was uplifting.


It’s a poetry two-fer! Or three-fer, if you count the 3WW I posted not long ago.

It’s not a happy two-fer; if I don’t let it out this way, it’ll still come rushing out, but it’ll be messier than words on a page.

Futility

I am running in place
at least a rat in his wheel
can stop for a drink and
return to his wheel at will-

instead I run on a treadmill
for days and weeks and years
I am so tired of running
in place on this rubber belt.

I am so tired and yet
my dreams elude me,
even awake, and I’m back to
running and running and

never getting ahead,
gaining neither centimetre
nor cent to save and use
to escape this fucking wheel.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

But wait! There’s more!

Limerick

Wear the badge of shame upon your chest;
Smile and say the customer knows best.
But underneath the mask,
You’re not up to the task:
Soon you’ll doff or burn that ugly vest.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

I guess this is to prove to myself that I have something. I have some small ability, and I’m making something that’s real with it.
Now time for sleep.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Well, this was uplifting.

  1. Your sentiments sorta sum up my weekend!

    …sigh…

    Meanwhile…I do enjoy your writing…so keep doin’ it!! 🙂

    • I’m sorry to hear that. But thank you for the encouragement; sometimes I lose confidence. Especially after the weekend I had. It wasn’t even that it was worse than any other weekend at my work- that’s kind of the point. It was an average weekend for me, which is monumentally depressing. Just running and running in place with nowhere to go and no way to stop.

Leave a Reply

