Discovery


This is something I worked on a while ago. Just dug it out and dusted ‘er off, added and deleted a couple things. After my last couple depressing posts, I thought something a little more uplifting was in order.

Discovery

In the days before,
I thought as a child
I lived as a child
I burned as a child must do.

In the nights before,
I fought as a child
I wept as a child
I hid as a child must do.

A great mist has settled
A greying cat purring, nestled
Around the dying world of darkness
To shroud any way to wisdom,
Any knowledge through pain, to the true self.

The clouds are parting
A hand beckons, insistent and kind
The fog begins to melt away.
Artists must always know truth
Perhaps the night may end.

© Bridget Noonan, 2009, 2011.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

