The Butterfly and Bee


“Maybe I’ve been here before/ I know this room, I’ve walked this floor/ I used to live alone before I knew you.”

🙂 I like Leonard Cohen. Famous Blue Raincoat is probably my favourite, but Hallelujah is rather well-known, at least through the many covers that have been done. Rufus Wainwright’s was excellent, and k.d. lang’s was pretty good too. Can’t forget Jeff Buckley’s either. Dang, there are so many.

In any case. This is about poetry. Poetry that was kind of inspired by Zhuangzi’s butterfly dream, and I believe might have been written with marker on a piece of cardboard that got rescued from the kindling box. This was on that same trip I took up with the fam-damily up to Balsam Lake.

The Butterfly and Bee

I felt the strangest sense of deja-vu
The other night around the fire
I knew I had been there
Before, I knew that smell,
I heard the same conversation
In the same words, tones and voices,
Felt that very same wind.

I took a moment, frozen
In that sameness of space and time
As though this place was the dream
And the place before, a place
Half-remembered, half-dreamt,
Was the reality.

© Bridget Noonan, 2010, 2011.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “The Butterfly and Bee

  1. Bee, this was gorgeous, ethereal. There is that confusion that is not actually confusion at all called dream/write. Reality is relative. We dream; when we wake, we write out of that, or just before sleep – it’s about the spiritual vulnerability required to write good poetry, prose, music… this was superb. Thanks, hon, Amy

    PS Laura is here right now visiting, so I wrote one for her:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/techie-twentysomething/

    • “Turn on, tune in, drop out? / Plug in, click on, tune out.”
      Love it.

      Thank you so much 🙂 Yes, I do see it as a sort of vulnerability; you can’t really be a great writer and keep yourself walled up emotionally. (it’s why I keep a sharp pencil and paper by my bed, just in case)

      Have fun with Laura, love!

Leave a Reply

