Gasp! Another two-fer!


This poem was brought to you by the letter I. And inspired by Writer’s Island.

Incomparable

Indomitably idealistic,
I idolized her intellect.
Incomparable to the idiots
Ignoring ideas for industry,
I sat irritably idle while my
Iconoclastic ingenue
Irrigated iron minds,
Impelling them to interchange
Instinct for inductive reasoning.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

But wait! There’s more. This is kind of a response to this poem.

don’t know if this is senryu or haiku or just fun

relief comes pouring
in cool torrents from the sky
breaking the heat’s back

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

Thank goodness for today’s thunderstorm. I love watching them, hearing them, smelling them- the whole experience.

Both short and sweet. Let me know what you think! And if you know what I should be calling that haiku-senryu-thingy, help a sister out 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under Poetry

12 responses to “Gasp! Another two-fer!

  1. Both are wonderful… smiles. Not sure which the 2nd is so will wait for someone else to help with that.

  2. Bee, loved both. Loved the first woman’s strength, in that age, to remain unwed and childless. Also, glad the back of the heat has been broken, even though I have no idea what form the poem itself might be. I’m sure someone will know! Here’s my “iconoclastic” try… Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/income-parable-writers-isle/

  3. nicely done Bee…..thanks for sharing your words

  4. earlybird

    Love the thunderstorm senryu (??).

  5. I love “Incomparable”, especially “Irrigated iron minds”. We need more like her. And you! Thanks.

    Richard

    • Thanks Richard! She’s a tough gal, but she’ll wear ’em down. I liked that image too, actually- iron plus water equals rust, which is much easier to break through. Feminism shouldn’t be a dirty word; it’s about equality for all, no matter the gender.
      I see the “iconoclastic ingenue” as someone who’s looking to break the glass ceilings, shake things up- a woman who isn’t afraid of challenging preconceived notions. And my narrator feels kinda impotent (hee, another i word!) compared to her, particularly when it comes to her drive to make things better.

  6. I, I, I, I like them veeerry much! The 2nd one could loosely be termed a haiku, as it is about weather/seasons. Thunderstorms are wonderful to watch from safety, but hereabouts fishermen and tourists are often killed by lightning while walking the low-tide beaches.

    • Haha thanks Viv- for the comment (and the laugh it brought), and for direction on what form the poem fits best! I agree that storms are much better in a safe place. But if it’s just rain, there’s nowhere I’d rather be than out playing in the rain 😀

Leave a Reply

