The Mask, or, Eleanor Rigby


This is so unpolished, but I’m posting it anyway. Clearly and obviously inspired by the song by the Beatles.

The Mask, or, Eleanor Rigby

I wear the face I keep
By the door in a jar
For everyone I meet;
The face of happiness,
A lie I must tell to
The faceless crowds of fools.
Eleanor Rigby’s face
That of a woman, false,
Is still my fate to wear
To everyone I see,
Never knowing my truth-
The face behind the face
In a jar by the door
To try on, to hide with,
To lie and lie and lie.
My faults and true feelings
Hidden behind such a mask,
The guise of day to day
Living; such deceit takes
Its toll- my mask has holes,
Pitted with age and war,
Worn far before its time
Wrinkled with the cares of
An older self. I must
Rebuild my public face
To stand the scrutiny
Of everyone I meet.

© Bridget Noonan, 2011.

Important announcement coming in July.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “The Mask, or, Eleanor Rigby

  1. Bridget, I love this. Big fan of the song (especially David Cook’s version of it). I love the idea of “rebuilding my public face.” Wherever we keep them – jars, shelves – we’ve all had them. And as I get older, I am slowly shedding mine with WYSIWYG being the goal. 😉 This is lovely. Thank you for sharing.

    • It’s funny. I feel I’m a fairly private person… aside from posting personal things on my blog for the whole world to see!
      It seems a bit Stepford wife of me, but I think I would prefer to keep the appearance of an even keel to most folk, and have the ‘real Bee’ come out to play in very select company.
      Then again I have a shitty poker face, so if I tried that, anyone can read that I got dealt a good or bad hand that day.

Leave a Reply

