See No Evil, Speak No Evil, Hear No Evil


Another from the few poems I wrote for a contest.

Hilariously enough, this post comes on a day of Internet activism. Apparently this SOPA/PIPA thing is a big deal. If the American government wants to be this heavy-handed in their laws, I’m not sure the Canadian government is too far behind them, considering our current P.M. seems like one of those yappy obnoxious dogs that shakes in a purse which, in the case of this figure of speech, is carried by whichever president our southern neighbours elect. I’m sure you’re as surprised as I am that the American government could ever be too harsh! Because they have a such a history of level-headed behaviour. Just check out the Wikipedia article on- oh wait

Long live a free and uncensored Internet!

See No Evil, Speak No Evil, Hear No Evil

The last time we spoke
We were outside my house
Some near-autumn weekend
You looked ten years older than I.
I refused to believe the lines
Cares had dug into your forehead.
(too young to be so old and bruised)

As the world tugged your hand
With stained yellow fingers from smoking,
You sighed like a great gust of wind
(how dare I play the coward and stay silent)

And leaves shook free from the trees
To litter the ground around us.
(how foolish I was to think you might go)

You repeated that everything was fine;
You were just tired today, things have been
(awful gut-wrenching screams broken locks)

All right lately, nothing to worry about,
(how thin your wrists, how hollow your eyes!)

Been keeping busy at school and home.
(you are careful not to mention it)

Small-talk about my latest projects,
(fury bubbling up at my inaction)

And then you were gone, your shadow by your side
(frozen in place all over again)

As I forced a smile and waved good-bye.
(my throat corked closed against the words I must say)

© Bridget Noonan, 2011, 2012.

Three Wise Monkeys (or Penguins in this case)

On the one hand, I understand the idea behind the Three Wise Monkeys (or as my picture depicts, penguins, because penguins are just cuter)- if you see hear and speak no evil, you can’t be influenced by or spread evil. On the other hand, looking the other way out of some demented sense of propriety is ridiculous; you can’t just ignore wrongdoing and hope it goes away, you have to actually do something.
I feel strongly about this topic, maybe.

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “See No Evil, Speak No Evil, Hear No Evil

  1. Bridget, I’m SO with you on the Monkeys conundrum. It sounds good in theory, but the inference is that one would not say, listen to, or NOTICE evil in the world. Me, I’m all about noticing and acting and speaking out. And I listen carefully to evil, if nothing else, to keep the bastards honest.

    I see the similiarity to the barlette you spoke of. You used the parentheses to great effect here. Seems as though your friend has AIDS? Am I right on this? It’s so hard to know what to say… Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/emotional-dyslexic/

    • I have never been comfortable with the idea that if we just don’t think about evil, it won’t happen. There is darkness in the hearts of some, and if we don’t recognize it, how can we combat it?
      My friend was in a bad situation, actually. I knew things weren’t healthy there, but all the words I wanted to say piled up like rush hour traffic and nothing came out. But accepting that I can’t change other people’s minds or make their decisions for them is the lesson I learned from it.
      It is hard to know what to say. Just knowing supportive folk are out there can be enough, though 🙂

      I’m glad to see you back Amy! Much love!

Leave a Reply

