Found Poetry: Is it Beginning?


Okay, so found poetry is cool.

I thought I’d give it a go, using the lyrics of the Beatles song Tomorrow Never Knows. Because I am a huge Beatles nerd, and it was playing while I pondered scouring my bookshelves for something to cobble together. Maybe it is more coincidence than design.

Also, this is harder to do than it looks.

Is it Beginning?

It is all play:
Existence is the game;
Hate and love and ignorance;
Beginning, end; Living, dead.

May you see meaning within
The shining thought,
The knowing void.

Float downstream,
Not dying, not being,
Knowing everyone.

Relax. It is not surrender.
Turn down your mind,
Mourn the dying, and
Love the living.

© Bridget Noonan, 2012.

I don’t know how anyone else does it, but a pencil and a pad of paper seem to work wonders with this sort of thing- one page with the original work, one with your derivative work. Though I don’t recommend crossing things out on your original work, because if you change things, eraser tends to muck it all up. The trials and tribulations of artistry! 😛

Edit: I feel a little bit bad for those words I didn’t end up using. They look so forlorn on that abandoned yellow page.

7 Comments

Filed under Poetry

7 responses to “Found Poetry: Is it Beginning?

  1. The meaning within comes through. I can see why you say it is harder than it looks. You can feel the constraint of the original but this also gives the poem a tightness which works.

    • Thank you very much!
      I think the hardest part was hearing the rhythm of the song in my head, and having it not fit with what I wanted to do, so there was some internal battling going on. That, and I hadn’t realized how few different words I had to work with. 😛

  2. I find the exercise especially interesting with larger pieces of work. Obviously it gives you a lot more power of word/phrase selection, but I found it both freeing and limited enough to work through relatively quickly. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. I’ve never tried found poetry. Sounds rather difficult, but maybe I’ll give it a go sometime when I get stuck. I do like yours though!

    • Thank you! It’s an interesting form.
      I have played with it in the past, but using the words from newspaper articles, and felt-tip markers to blank out the words I don’t want to use. Go for one of those if you have a day or two to dedicate to sifting through a stack of old newspapers. It’s interesting what words will jump out at you.

  4. Pingback: Found Poetry: I Drew a Map of Love | beespoetry

Leave a Reply

